today i am 49

Today I am 49, I feel older than that some days and younger than that some days. As I have never been this age before I am not sure what it is supposed to feel like. But as always, I look back on the last year and laugh, cry, smile, remember, and more importantly thank God for the fact I am here to celebrate another birthday. So here’s a list of 49 moments from the last year.

  1. I have realised I can speak good Italian – a week in hospital does that to you
  2. I ticked a few things off my bucket list this year – attending meetings at the UN was one of those
  3. I can offer advice when asked
  4. I am reading more diverse books
  5. My Pride and Prejudice collection has exploded
  6. I am learning about uncomfortable issues like passive racism
  7. I love to cook
  8. I rediscovered the cooking passion
  9. Verona is a very cool city to visit
  10. I miss people and places, but mainly people
  11. Grief is a long term process
  12. Presence is better than words
  13. It’s okay to spoil myself
  14. It’s okay to take time for Estelle
  15. I don’t like walking but it’s good for me
  16. 51°c with no air con is too hot.
  17. Blue Skies always feel better when it rains
  18. I am loved by so many people
  19. I am a terrible patient
  20. I can talk with passion about Social Justice issues anywhere – including just before my colonoscopy
  21. My tribe is the best.
  22. Words count
  23. 10 years went by fast
  24. Sometimes telling people you love them makes a difference
  25. Technology has been a blessing
  26. Binge watching means I get hooked on shows like “Designated Survivor”
  27. I still cry at happy endings
  28. Jazz is my favourite chill out music
  29. Gospel does my soul good
  30. Making new friends is a good idea
  31. Dancing is good
  32. Tears in private or public are okay
  33. I am blessed
  34. I watched 4 transfusions go in my body
  35. I discovered my blood type
  36. I am grateful for strong friendships
  37. I still get scared
  38. Being a grown up is not always hard, it can be fun too
  39. Sometimes I laugh in inappropriate places
  40. The peri-menopause is not nice
  41. My favourite gelato this year is “Rice Pudding”
  42. Watching my favourite Italian football team live was fun
  43. I have had some big dreams this year and they excite me
  44. I enjoy preaching
  45. Taking photos is fun
  46. As my buddy Bronwen says, “something shifted” and I have moved on in an area of my life
  47. I still love happy endings
  48. I am creative
  49. A few years ago . Lt. Colonel George Pilkington told me about how he always reads the Psalm for his birthday that year with the same number of years as his age. So here is Psalm 49

49 1-2 Listen, everyone, listen—
earth-dwellers, don’t miss this.
All you haves
and have-nots,
All together now: listen.

3-4 I set plainspoken wisdom before you,
my heart-seasoned understandings of life.
I fine-tuned my ear to the sayings of the wise,
I solve life’s riddle with the help of a harp.

5-6 So why should I fear in bad times,
hemmed in by enemy malice,
Shoved around by bullies,
demeaned by the arrogant rich?

7-9 Really! There’s no such thing as self-rescue,
pulling yourself up by your bootstraps.
The cost of rescue is beyond our means,
and even then it doesn’t guarantee
Life forever, or insurance
against the Black Hole.

10-11 Anyone can see that the brightest and best die,
wiped out right along with fools and dunces.
They leave all their prowess behind,
move into their new home, The Coffin,
The cemetery their permanent address.
And to think they named counties after themselves!

12 We aren’t immortal. We don’t last long.
Like our dogs, we age and weaken. And die.

13-15 This is what happens to those who live for the moment,
who only look out for themselves:
Death herds them like sheep straight to hell;
they disappear down the gullet of the grave;
They waste away to nothing—
nothing left but a marker in a cemetery.
But me? God snatches me from the clutch of death,
he reaches down and grabs me.

16-19 So don’t be impressed with those who get rich
and pile up fame and fortune.
They can’t take it with them;
fame and fortune all get left behind.
Just when they think they’ve arrived
and folks praise them because they’ve made good,
They enter the family burial plot
where they’ll never see sunshine again.

20 We aren’t immortal. We don’t last long.
Like our dogs, we age and weaken. And die.

One thought on “today i am 49

  1. Iris Bennett

    I love you for your amazing positivity even when times are hard. The fact that you have to change your life to continue in your ministry. The joy you find in simple things. Mostly for the love you have for all people. x

    On Sun, Nov 5, 2017 at 10:39 PM, My Adventure’s In Italy wrote:

    > stelly68 posted: “Today I am 49, I feel older than that some days and > younger than that some days. As I have never been this age before I am not > sure what it is supposed to feel like. But as always, I look back on the > last year and laugh, cry, smile, remember, and more imp” >

Leave a comment